Trumpland

​With all due respect to Emma Lazarus, it’s time to make some changes.

“Give me your tired, your poor,

Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,

The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.

Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me,

I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”

For those of you who are unaware, this is inscribed on the Statue of Liberty. It needs to be changed.

“White Christians only.”

Because we are afraid. We are afraid of change. We are afraid of a changing America in which black people, brown people, yellow people or people who believe in Allah instead of Jesus all have a voice. We are afraid of losing control.

Donald Trump ran on this fear. He found those people who believed that Barack Obama was a Muslim, a Kenyan, a traitor, or just plain unqualified to be President because he was black.

Trump played on those fears. Fears of Muslims, fears of Mexicans, fears of immigrants, fears of everything. Be afraid, he said.

Elect me and we’ll get rid of the Muslims, the Mexicans, and everyone who is different. Elect me and I’ll put those black people back in their place. Elect me and I’ll build a wall. Elect me and I’ll restore law and order. 

 We won’t have black people making a fuss because they’re being shot by police officers. We won’t have Colin Kaepernick kneeling during the National Anthem. I’ll force him to respect our flag.

That’s what Trump promised. And that’s what we’re getting. Of course, in order to do that, America can no longer be America. We lose the choice. Trump’s–and those who voted for him — idea of America is an America dominated by fear. It’s an America of walls and of edicts that change ALL of the things that America once stood for.

Freedom of Religion? Gone. This country was founded on the idea that we had the right to practice ANY religion. Trump promised a Christian nation — one that DOESN’T practice Christian values. Freedom of Speech? Embattled. Freedom of the press? Diminished.

And we’re only a week in. What comes next?

I don’t know. But I feel sorry for that Grand old lady in New York harbor. That shining beacon of Liberty and Democracy must be crying. She’s seen a minority of people, afraid of the dark, douse the shining beacon of liberty.

Standard

Leave a Reply

